publish
[alioth/cvs.git] / AUTHORS
1 Authors of GNU CVS
2
3 The conflict-resolution algorithms and much of the administrative file
4 definitions of CVS were based on the original package written by Dick Grune
5 at Vrije Universiteit in Amsterdam <dick@cs.vu.nl>, and posted to
6 comp.sources.unix in the volume 6 release sometime in 1986.  This original
7 version was a collection of shell scripts.  I am thankful that Dick made
8 his work available.
9
10 Brian Berliner from Prisma, Inc. (now at Sun Microsystems, Inc.)
11 <berliner@sun.com> converted the original CVS shell scripts into reasonably
12 fast C and added many, many features to support software release control
13 functions.  See the manual page in the "man" directory.  A copy of the
14 USENIX article presented at the Winter 1990 USENIX Conference, Washington
15 D.C., is included in the "doc" directory.
16
17 Jeff Polk from BSDI <polk@bsdi.com> converted the CVS 1.2
18 sources into much more readable and maintainable C code.  He also added a
19 whole lot of functionality and modularity to the code in the process.
20 See the bottom of the NEWS file (from about 1992).
21
22 david d `zoo' zuhn <zoo@armadillo.com> contributed the working base code
23 for CVS 1.4 Alpha.  His work carries on from work done by K. Richard Pixley
24 and others at Cygnus Support.  The CVS 1.4 upgrade is due in large part to
25 Zoo's efforts.
26
27 David G. Grubbs <dgg@odi.com> contributed the CVS "history" and "release"
28 commands.  As well as the ever-so-useful "-n" option of CVS which tells CVS
29 to show what it would do, without actually doing it.  He also contributed
30 support for the .cvsignore file.
31
32 The Free Software Foundation (GNU) contributed most of the portability
33 framework that CVS now uses.  This can be found in the "configure" script,
34 the Makefile's, and basically most of the "lib" directory.
35
36 K. Richard Pixley, Cygnus Support <rich@cygnus.com> contributed many bug
37 fixes/enhancement as well as completing early reviews of the CVS 1.3 manual
38 pages.
39
40 Roland Pesch, then of Cygnus Support <roland@wrs.com> contributed
41 brand new cvs(1) and cvs(5) manual pages.  Thanks to him for saving us
42 from poor use of our language!
43
44 Paul Sander, HaL Computer Systems, Inc. <paul@hal.com> wrote and
45 contributed the code in lib/sighandle.c.  I added support for POSIX, BSD,
46 and non-POSIX/non-BSD systems.
47
48 Jim Kingdon and others at Cygnus Support <info@cygnus.com> wrote the
49 remote repository access code.
50
51 Larry Jones and Derek Price <derek@ximbiot.com> have been maintaining and
52 enhancing CVS for some years.  Mark D. Baushke <mdb@gnu.org> came on in
53 2003.
54
55 Conrad Pino <Conrad@Pino.com> began maintaining the Windows port in 2004.
56
57 There have been many, many contributions not listed here.  Consult the
58 individual ChangeLog files in each directory for a more complete idea.
59
60 Thorsten Glaser <tg@mirbsd.org> is responsible for the MirOS extensions,
61 some of which were inspired by changes to GNU CVS 1.11.1p1 by other BSDs,
62 and did the MirOS BSD port as well as the MirPorts Framework packaging.
63
64 This port also contains a fair number of the previous Debian package's patches.
65
66 In addition to the above contributors, the following Beta testers
67 deserve special mention for their support.  This is only a partial
68 list; if you have helped in this way and would like to be listed, let
69 bug-cvs know (as described in the Cederqvist manual).
70
71         Mark D. Baushke <mdb@cisco.com>
72         Per Cederqvist <ceder@signum.se>
73         J.T. Conklin <jtc@cygnus.com>
74         Vince DeMarco <vdemarco@fdcsrvr.cs.mci.com>
75         Paul Eggert <eggert@twinsun.com>
76         Lal George <george@research.att.com>
77         Dean E. Hardi <Dean.E.Hardi@ccmail.jpl.nasa.gov>
78         Mike Heath <mike@pencom.com>
79         Jim Kingdon <kingdon@cygnus.com>
80         Bernd Leibing <bernd.leibing@rz.uni-ulm.de>
81         Benedict Lofstedt <benedict@tusc.com.au>
82         Dave Love <d.love@dl.ac.uk>
83         Robert Lupton the Good <rhl@astro.princeton.edu>
84         Tom McAliney <tom@hilco.com>
85         Eberhard Mattes <mattes@azu.informatik.uni-stuttgart.de>
86         Jim Meyering <meyering@comco.com>
87         Thomas Mohr <mohr@lts.sel.alcatel.de>
88         Thomas Nilsson <thoni@softlab.se>
89         Raye Raskin <raye.raskin@lia.com>
90         Harlan Stenn <harlan@landmark.com>
91         Gunnar Tornblom <gunnar.tornblom@senet.abb.se>
92         Greg A. Woods <woods@planix.com>
93
94 Many contributors have added code to the "contrib" directory.  See the
95 README file there for a list of what is available.  There is also a
96 contributed GNU Emacs CVS-mode in tools/pcl-cvs.