alioth/early-rng-init-tools.git
2 months agoadd a comment for consideration of reducing dmesg contribution master
mirabilos [Sun, 24 Feb 2019 21:38:06 +0000 (21:38 +0000)]
add a comment for consideration of reducing dmesg contribution

2 months agofix pasto early-rng-init-tools_1
mirabilos [Sun, 24 Feb 2019 04:39:45 +0000 (05:39 +0100)]
fix pasto

2 months agolet’s call this version 1
mirabilos [Sat, 23 Feb 2019 17:53:18 +0000 (18:53 +0100)]
let’s call this version 1

2 months agodocument better the split between main and extra files’ licences
mirabilos [Sat, 23 Feb 2019 17:52:48 +0000 (18:52 +0100)]
document better the split between main and extra files’ licences

2 months agoOS update on the BSDs; Debian GNU/Linux works on x86, will test on m68k
mirabilos [Sat, 23 Feb 2019 17:51:58 +0000 (18:51 +0100)]
OS update on the BSDs; Debian GNU/Linux works on x86, will test on m68k

2 months agomore precisely
mirabilos [Sat, 23 Feb 2019 17:30:23 +0000 (18:30 +0100)]
more precisely

2 months agodisable verbosity by default as we leave the dev stage
mirabilos [Sat, 23 Feb 2019 17:20:36 +0000 (18:20 +0100)]
disable verbosity by default as we leave the dev stage

2 months agowow, bug was already fixed
mirabilos [Sat, 23 Feb 2019 17:19:02 +0000 (18:19 +0100)]
wow, bug was already fixed

2 months agomaybe so?
mirabilos [Sat, 23 Feb 2019 17:05:50 +0000 (18:05 +0100)]
maybe so?

2 months agomake five rounds be enough
mirabilos [Sat, 23 Feb 2019 16:50:59 +0000 (17:50 +0100)]
make five rounds be enough

2 months agomake rnd_jytter actually useful
mirabilos [Sat, 23 Feb 2019 16:40:30 +0000 (17:40 +0100)]
make rnd_jytter actually useful

2 months agoput a ceiling on how many bits of entropy we accredit
mirabilos [Sat, 23 Feb 2019 16:22:19 +0000 (17:22 +0100)]
put a ceiling on how many bits of entropy we accredit

2 months agoRevert "write another bunch", figured out the real case,
mirabilos [Sat, 23 Feb 2019 16:19:34 +0000 (17:19 +0100)]
Revert "write another bunch", figured out the real case,

and it was either reduce both of them now or drop the second,
and since the second was unexplainable magic anyway, nuke it

This reverts commit 3cc0c238547301ce556600f2643df597f6b4cb69.

2 months agohelp gcc 3.4.6 on MirBSD optimise the shr ecx,2 away
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 23:11:53 +0000 (23:11 +0000)]
help gcc 3.4.6 on MirBSD optimise the shr ecx,2 away

2 months agod’oh, bits, not bytes
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 23:05:58 +0000 (23:05 +0000)]
d’oh, bits, not bytes

(as often, the best ideas come to me sitting in the restroom...)

2 months agowrite another bunch to the kernel immediately after
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 19:16:15 +0000 (20:16 +0100)]
write another bunch to the kernel immediately after

that was still not enough on my laptop for “crng init done”…

2 months agomake it easier to change
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 18:44:11 +0000 (19:44 +0100)]
make it easier to change

2 months agooops, enable debugging level first
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 18:40:39 +0000 (19:40 +0100)]
oops, enable debugging level first

2 months agoperhaps doing this a bit later is cool?
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 18:38:45 +0000 (19:38 +0100)]
perhaps doing this a bit later is cool?

2 months agooverride systemd-service-file-refers-to-unusual-wantedby-target
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 18:32:05 +0000 (19:32 +0100)]
override systemd-service-file-refers-to-unusual-wantedby-target

2 months agooch jooooo…
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 18:31:31 +0000 (19:31 +0100)]
och jooooo…

2 months agosystemd-service-file-missing-documentation-key *höhö*
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 18:29:16 +0000 (19:29 +0100)]
systemd-service-file-missing-documentation-key *höhö*

2 months agolintian does not want me to share
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 18:26:06 +0000 (19:26 +0100)]
lintian does not want me to share

2 months agoservice-key-has-whitespace etc.
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 18:18:59 +0000 (19:18 +0100)]
service-key-has-whitespace etc.

2 months agorunning the second jytter would come too late and therefore fail
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 18:16:15 +0000 (19:16 +0100)]
running the second jytter would come too late and therefore fail

2 months agoensure $rootmnt is read-write at the bottom
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 18:14:50 +0000 (19:14 +0100)]
ensure $rootmnt is read-write at the bottom

(should not be a problem, as initramfs fscks root already)

2 months agomissing-systemd-service-for-init.d-rcS-script
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 17:50:39 +0000 (18:50 +0100)]
missing-systemd-service-for-init.d-rcS-script

2 months agoso we can call this from a systemd unit w/o the redirect
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 17:45:23 +0000 (18:45 +0100)]
so we can call this from a systemd unit w/o the redirect

cf. /lib/lsb/init-functions.d/40-systemd

2 months agothis stopped working when we switched to getopt(3)
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 17:40:14 +0000 (18:40 +0100)]
this stopped working when we switched to getopt(3)

2 months agofix
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 17:39:23 +0000 (18:39 +0100)]
fix

2 months agoargh!
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 17:09:41 +0000 (18:09 +0100)]
argh!

2 months agoinit.d-script-needs-depends-on-lsb-base
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 16:52:37 +0000 (17:52 +0100)]
init.d-script-needs-depends-on-lsb-base

2 months agooh c’mon
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 16:51:59 +0000 (17:51 +0100)]
oh c’mon

2 months agoensure numeric is used in numeric comparison:
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 16:47:17 +0000 (17:47 +0100)]
ensure numeric is used in numeric comparison:

GNU bash chokes on empty string

2 months agofirst cut at init script
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 16:45:24 +0000 (17:45 +0100)]
first cut at init script

2 months agoexperimental cron.daily job
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 16:21:52 +0000 (17:21 +0100)]
experimental cron.daily job

also, rely on dh to fix perms

2 months agoexperimental initramfs hooks
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 16:16:26 +0000 (17:16 +0100)]
experimental initramfs hooks

2 months agovirtual-package-depends-without-real-package-depends
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 15:38:52 +0000 (16:38 +0100)]
virtual-package-depends-without-real-package-depends

2 months agopossible-unindented-list-in-extended-description and a missing item
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 15:38:35 +0000 (16:38 +0100)]
possible-unindented-list-in-extended-description and a missing item

2 months agoupdate lintian overrides
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 15:36:27 +0000 (16:36 +0100)]
update lintian overrides

2 months agomake it actually build with klcc
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 15:29:57 +0000 (16:29 +0100)]
make it actually build with klcc

2 months agoearliest packaging attempt
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 15:22:01 +0000 (16:22 +0100)]
earliest packaging attempt

from jupp, mksh, pax

2 months agoensure we still perturb the on-platter seed even if urandom write fails
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 04:18:38 +0000 (04:18 +0000)]
ensure we still perturb the on-platter seed even if urandom write fails

2 months agoadd a comment about ASCII trick not being EBCDIC-safe
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 04:09:52 +0000 (04:09 +0000)]
add a comment about ASCII trick not being EBCDIC-safe

(I could add a compile-time or run-time assert, but, meh,
this is pretty much Linux/OpenBSD only and not in danger
of being run on EBCDIC mainframe partitions)

2 months agomake less chatty by default (-d is now -dd)
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 02:59:13 +0000 (03:59 +0100)]
make less chatty by default (-d is now -dd)

2 months agoklibc lacks clock_gettime(2)
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 02:54:48 +0000 (03:54 +0100)]
klibc lacks clock_gettime(2)

2 months agoklibc lacks AT_RANDOM (but it’s static in the kernel uapi)
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 02:50:10 +0000 (03:50 +0100)]
klibc lacks AT_RANDOM (but it’s static in the kernel uapi)

2 months agoWFM with Debian/linux-x32/glibc
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 02:46:03 +0000 (03:46 +0100)]
WFM with Debian/linux-x32/glibc

2 months agofix format string
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 02:43:59 +0000 (03:43 +0100)]
fix format string

2 months agofix amd64 assembly
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 02:41:49 +0000 (03:41 +0100)]
fix amd64 assembly

2 months agoadd debugging (looking good on stretch/linux-i386 so far)
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 02:40:06 +0000 (03:40 +0100)]
add debugging (looking good on stretch/linux-i386 so far)

2 months agounused variable
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 02:32:56 +0000 (03:32 +0100)]
unused variable

2 months agoavoid warnings on GNU
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 02:31:48 +0000 (02:31 +0000)]
avoid warnings on GNU

2 months agodon’t do FreeBSD/MidnightBSD for now
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 02:27:27 +0000 (21:27 -0500)]
don’t do FreeBSD/MidnightBSD for now

2 months agoMidnightBSD version of NOMAN
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 02:21:06 +0000 (21:21 -0500)]
MidnightBSD version of NOMAN

2 months agoMidnightBSD executes those with their weird Bourne/POSIX shell
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 02:19:31 +0000 (21:19 -0500)]
MidnightBSD executes those with their weird Bourne/POSIX shell

2 months agojytter less and do tsc later (for more uncertainty)
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 02:14:04 +0000 (02:14 +0000)]
jytter less and do tsc later (for more uncertainty)

2 months agoadd the ability to gather hex from the command line
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 02:07:15 +0000 (02:07 +0000)]
add the ability to gather hex from the command line

2 months agono change move
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 01:52:24 +0000 (01:52 +0000)]
no change move

2 months agoallow main() to also gather a little
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 01:51:48 +0000 (01:51 +0000)]
allow main() to also gather a little

2 months agomix in the clock as well
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 01:45:43 +0000 (01:45 +0000)]
mix in the clock as well

2 months agoadd AT_RANDOM (Linux), remaining need (all)
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 01:37:41 +0000 (01:37 +0000)]
add AT_RANDOM (Linux), remaining need (all)

2 months agohook up kern.arnd on OpenBSD/MirBSD
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 01:24:08 +0000 (01:24 +0000)]
hook up kern.arnd on OpenBSD/MirBSD

2 months agohook up TSC
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 01:14:22 +0000 (01:14 +0000)]
hook up TSC

2 months agoalso default to adding the TSC on x86
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 01:09:11 +0000 (01:09 +0000)]
also default to adding the TSC on x86

2 months agooptional jytter gather
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 01:08:28 +0000 (01:08 +0000)]
optional jytter gather

2 months agorefactor, since we can’t use Makefile.inc
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 01:07:06 +0000 (01:07 +0000)]
refactor, since we can’t use Makefile.inc

2 months agohook up rnd_shuf to the build
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 00:57:31 +0000 (00:57 +0000)]
hook up rnd_shuf to the build

2 months agogetopt
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 00:55:33 +0000 (00:55 +0000)]
getopt

2 months agorefactor
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 00:50:11 +0000 (00:50 +0000)]
refactor

2 months agowe might wish to use jytter for extra gathering
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 00:48:04 +0000 (00:48 +0000)]
we might wish to use jytter for extra gathering

2 months agothe Linux API is identical, not too surprisingly enough
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 00:36:35 +0000 (00:36 +0000)]
the Linux API is identical, not too surprisingly enough

2 months agothis should do it for MirBSD
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 00:31:18 +0000 (00:31 +0000)]
this should do it for MirBSD

2 months agoclose to finishing
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 00:28:10 +0000 (00:28 +0000)]
close to finishing

2 months agointroduce some variance and comment
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 00:20:42 +0000 (00:20 +0000)]
introduce some variance and comment

2 months agohook ’em up
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 00:14:00 +0000 (00:14 +0000)]
hook ’em up

2 months agomore from MirBSD libc/kern
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 00:11:19 +0000 (00:11 +0000)]
more from MirBSD libc/kern

2 months agosomewhat further, plus stealing my own helper functions from jupp
mirabilos [Fri, 22 Feb 2019 00:08:31 +0000 (00:08 +0000)]
somewhat further, plus stealing my own helper functions from jupp

2 months agobetter
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 23:33:12 +0000 (23:33 +0000)]
better

2 months agofinish renaming
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 23:29:48 +0000 (23:29 +0000)]
finish renaming

2 months agothis makes more sense
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 23:29:37 +0000 (23:29 +0000)]
this makes more sense

2 months agocloser to what I want/need, and a bit generalised
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 23:28:20 +0000 (23:28 +0000)]
closer to what I want/need, and a bit generalised

2 months agodrop, we don’t/can’t reseed
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 23:17:27 +0000 (23:17 +0000)]
drop, we don’t/can’t reseed

2 months agos/i4state\.cipher/i4state/g
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 23:17:00 +0000 (23:17 +0000)]
s/i4state\.cipher/i4state/g

2 months agodrop some stuff
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 23:16:28 +0000 (23:16 +0000)]
drop some stuff

2 months agofix dependencies
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 23:14:37 +0000 (23:14 +0000)]
fix dependencies

2 months agomissing header
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 23:10:51 +0000 (23:10 +0000)]
missing header

2 months agomore from libc, and feedback
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 23:09:41 +0000 (23:09 +0000)]
more from libc, and feedback

2 months agothis is from the API we spec for
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 23:05:11 +0000 (23:05 +0000)]
this is from the API we spec for

2 months agoadd dependency info
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 23:04:02 +0000 (23:04 +0000)]
add dependency info

2 months agomake these compile
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 23:02:25 +0000 (23:02 +0000)]
make these compile

2 months agodrop that too, we need just the stream cipher for this
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 23:00:52 +0000 (23:00 +0000)]
drop that too, we need just the stream cipher for this

2 months agodrop these, too
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 22:59:56 +0000 (22:59 +0000)]
drop these, too

they have to do with the internals of the stirring mechanism

2 months agodrop
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 22:58:57 +0000 (22:58 +0000)]
drop

2 months agono <sys/cdefs.h> needed here
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 22:58:00 +0000 (22:58 +0000)]
no <sys/cdefs.h> needed here

2 months agobegin work
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 22:57:50 +0000 (22:57 +0000)]
begin work

2 months agolet’s spec for this
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 22:56:39 +0000 (22:56 +0000)]
let’s spec for this

2 months agos/a4state/i4state/g
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 22:53:52 +0000 (22:53 +0000)]
s/a4state/i4state/g

2 months agodummy test program
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 22:52:13 +0000 (22:52 +0000)]
dummy test program

2 months agoharmonise
mirabilos [Thu, 21 Feb 2019 22:49:59 +0000 (22:49 +0000)]
harmonise