shellsnippets/shellsnippets.git
5 days agoquick CVS revision checker master
mirabilos [Fri, 30 Jul 2021 21:18:59 +0000 (23:18 +0200)]
quick CVS revision checker

2 weeks agoupdate CVS update script to account for Dead revisions
mirabilos [Wed, 21 Jul 2021 21:55:05 +0000 (23:55 +0200)]
update CVS update script to account for Dead revisions

2 weeks agoshow nearest neighbour versions
mirabilos [Wed, 21 Jul 2021 21:53:18 +0000 (23:53 +0200)]
show nearest neighbour versions

2 weeks agopass parameters as filter arguments to dpkg-query
mirabilos [Wed, 21 Jul 2021 21:49:11 +0000 (23:49 +0200)]
pass parameters as filter arguments to dpkg-query

2 weeks agouse a progress bar and temp files instead
mirabilos [Wed, 21 Jul 2021 21:38:54 +0000 (23:38 +0200)]
use a progress bar and temp files instead

2 weeks agofirst cut at dpkg/APT repo checker
mirabilos [Wed, 21 Jul 2021 21:09:58 +0000 (23:09 +0200)]
first cut at dpkg/APT repo checker

this tells you which packages you have installed that aren’t in
any repo included, and whether they are newer than any others or
older than any backports or nōn-backports ones

4 weeks agoupdate from MirBSD CVS
mirabilos [Fri, 2 Jul 2021 20:16:47 +0000 (22:16 +0200)]
update from MirBSD CVS

4 weeks agoconvenience +x
mirabilos [Fri, 2 Jul 2021 20:15:00 +0000 (22:15 +0200)]
convenience +x

7 weeks agofix maintainer script file permissions in control tarball
mirabilos [Thu, 10 Jun 2021 15:23:13 +0000 (17:23 +0200)]
fix maintainer script file permissions in control tarball

2 months agomake life a little easier
mirabilos [Mon, 10 May 2021 22:16:32 +0000 (00:16 +0200)]
make life a little easier

mind that --color takes no argument in older git, cf.
$MirOS: contrib/samples/etc_profile,v 1.20 2019/08/15 18:45:03 tg Exp $

3 months agoupdate for latest pax
mirabilos [Mon, 3 May 2021 03:45:57 +0000 (05:45 +0200)]
update for latest pax

3 months agouse a slightly more universal path
mirabilos [Mon, 3 May 2021 02:36:19 +0000 (02:36 +0000)]
use a slightly more universal path

3 months agoupdate from MirBSD CVS
mirabilos [Mon, 3 May 2021 02:29:38 +0000 (04:29 +0200)]
update from MirBSD CVS

3 months agosome further cleanup and optimisation
mirabilos [Thu, 22 Apr 2021 07:51:20 +0000 (09:51 +0200)]
some further cleanup and optimisation

3 months agoRevert "this might be another speedup…" as the figures diverge
mirabilos [Thu, 22 Apr 2021 07:01:43 +0000 (09:01 +0200)]
Revert "this might be another speedup…" as the figures diverge

(basically the spread between measurements is too wide)

This reverts commit f4bb6933ca9f3b38b4cd36eba18ca2cf600eea95.

3 months agobring back consistent output wrt optional redundancy
mirabilos [Thu, 22 Apr 2021 06:56:18 +0000 (08:56 +0200)]
bring back consistent output wrt optional redundancy

the timing figures permit this

3 months agothis might be another speedup…
mirabilos [Thu, 22 Apr 2021 06:49:02 +0000 (08:49 +0200)]
this might be another speedup…

… though the figures from time mksh resortip change massively
when only a subset of cores is busy, and Linux seems to optimise
the one-byte read(2) a shell necessarily does well enough… and
this is not my favourite code structure for this kind of thing
and hoping or waiting for a buffered read anyway…

3 months agomassive speedup by some reorganisation and optimisation
mirabilos [Thu, 22 Apr 2021 05:41:22 +0000 (07:41 +0200)]
massive speedup by some reorganisation and optimisation

we now do emit some /128 and /32 (specifically when a
range begins with one) but that’s decorative anyway…

3 months agoadd script to sort, merge and format IP addresses:
mirabilos [Thu, 22 Apr 2021 02:52:44 +0000 (04:52 +0200)]
add script to sort, merge and format IP addresses:

• takes addresses (IP or Legacy IP) with CIDR masks (/32, /128)
  on standard input, line by line, optionally, separated by space,
  multiple per line
• expands the addresses to the networks they span internally
• sorts them (by shelling out to LC_ALL=C sort -u)
• merges overlapping and adjacent ranges
• collapses the ranges into CIDR networks again, splitting as
  necessary, e.g. ::0 – ::10 is split into ::/124 and ::10/128
• omits the trailing /128 (IP) and /32 (Legacy IP)
• formats IP addresses RFC5952-conformant (even though that
  beast mandates lowercase hex nybbles, grr)

note this is s̲l̲o̲w̲, especially the collapsing-into-CIDR-ranges
part, especially on IPv6 as the amount to test is much larger

(sort(1) is the only POSIX utility used; the entire remaining
code is implemented in Pure mksh™ as to be highly portable)

4 months agoallow SUDO= c …
mirabilos [Sat, 27 Mar 2021 21:19:33 +0000 (22:19 +0100)]
allow SUDO= c …

4 months agoconvenience
mirabilos [Wed, 24 Mar 2021 20:58:27 +0000 (21:58 +0100)]
convenience

4 months ago[WIP] fix bugs, add tons of enhancements; not yet usable or complete
mirabilos [Mon, 15 Mar 2021 00:14:22 +0000 (01:14 +0100)]
[WIP] fix bugs, add tons of enhancements; not yet usable or complete

4 months agothese need not be executable
mirabilos [Sat, 13 Mar 2021 21:41:29 +0000 (22:41 +0100)]
these need not be executable

4 months agoadd some shellcheck, which is rather opinionated…
mirabilos [Thu, 11 Mar 2021 20:05:24 +0000 (21:05 +0100)]
add some shellcheck, which is rather opinionated…

… and not always helpful; in any case, no actual bugs found

4 months agoupdate from MirBSD CVS
mirabilos [Wed, 10 Mar 2021 17:18:20 +0000 (18:18 +0100)]
update from MirBSD CVS

4 months agoallow “k .rdp” to load ~/.Xmodmap.rdp (any dot-prefixed $1)
mirabilos [Wed, 10 Mar 2021 14:18:10 +0000 (15:18 +0100)]
allow “k .rdp” to load ~/.Xmodmap.rdp (any dot-prefixed $1)

also nicer xtracing

8 months agoupdate from MirBSD CVS
mirabilos [Thu, 26 Nov 2020 04:27:48 +0000 (05:27 +0100)]
update from MirBSD CVS

8 months agoadd a wrapper for the red tape around w --yesno, too, and checkers
mirabilos [Mon, 16 Nov 2020 02:13:55 +0000 (03:13 +0100)]
add a wrapper for the red tape around w --yesno, too, and checkers

8 months agoimplement partitioning swap
mirabilos [Mon, 16 Nov 2020 02:06:23 +0000 (03:06 +0100)]
implement partitioning swap

8 months agonever use a numeric s at all any more, always relative
mirabilos [Mon, 16 Nov 2020 01:37:06 +0000 (02:37 +0100)]
never use a numeric s at all any more, always relative

8 months agodefault to going to the next state
mirabilos [Mon, 16 Nov 2020 01:31:24 +0000 (02:31 +0100)]
default to going to the next state

8 months agoabstract the state machine away somewhat
mirabilos [Mon, 16 Nov 2020 01:29:42 +0000 (02:29 +0100)]
abstract the state machine away somewhat

8 months agostates end at 999 for simplicity
mirabilos [Mon, 16 Nov 2020 01:07:39 +0000 (02:07 +0100)]
states end at 999 for simplicity

8 months agorefactor so states can “finish” any time with a return
mirabilos [Mon, 16 Nov 2020 01:05:46 +0000 (02:05 +0100)]
refactor so states can “finish” any time with a return

8 months agofactor out
mirabilos [Sun, 15 Nov 2020 23:32:10 +0000 (00:32 +0100)]
factor out

8 months agouse model-unspecific partition names and boot by partition label
mirabilos [Sun, 15 Nov 2020 23:22:42 +0000 (00:22 +0100)]
use model-unspecific partition names and boot by partition label

8 months agoswitch to raspi-firmware, from buster-backports if needed
mirabilos [Sun, 15 Nov 2020 23:18:32 +0000 (00:18 +0100)]
switch to raspi-firmware, from buster-backports if needed

8 months agoalways re-run raspi firmware setup script, we shall patch more
mirabilos [Sun, 15 Nov 2020 23:13:47 +0000 (00:13 +0100)]
always re-run raspi firmware setup script, we shall patch more

8 months agoonly install WLAN firmware if WLAN selected (e.g. not for Model 2)
mirabilos [Sun, 15 Nov 2020 23:04:27 +0000 (00:04 +0100)]
only install WLAN firmware if WLAN selected (e.g. not for Model 2)

8 months agoallow reading text from stdin, too
mirabilos [Mon, 9 Nov 2020 00:04:30 +0000 (01:04 +0100)]
allow reading text from stdin, too

8 months agoallow infile, outfile and text to be passed as option instead
mirabilos [Sun, 8 Nov 2020 23:57:19 +0000 (00:57 +0100)]
allow infile, outfile and text to be passed as option instead

(and prefer it)

this allows users a more flexible command line layout, putting
constant things (like infile, outfile) near the beginning and
things they change until got it right (angle, fontsize) to the end

8 months agoa first version of the watermark script to seal persokopiën with
mirabilos [Sun, 8 Nov 2020 23:23:37 +0000 (00:23 +0100)]
a first version of the watermark script to seal persokopiën with

9 months agoupdate from MirBSD CVS
mirabilos [Fri, 30 Oct 2020 09:14:29 +0000 (10:14 +0100)]
update from MirBSD CVS

9 months agoupdate from MirBSD CVS, mostly for rcp -a
mirabilos [Thu, 29 Oct 2020 05:18:27 +0000 (06:18 +0100)]
update from MirBSD CVS, mostly for rcp -a

12 months agohttps
mirabilos [Sat, 18 Jul 2020 18:00:08 +0000 (20:00 +0200)]
https

13 months agoincrease space, kernels and especially initrds grow really big
mirabilos [Fri, 3 Jul 2020 16:37:24 +0000 (18:37 +0200)]
increase space, kernels and especially initrds grow really big

this prepares for a successful bullseye upgrade/install

13 months agoupdate from MirBSD CVS (new dot rules)
mirabilos [Sun, 21 Jun 2020 15:33:01 +0000 (17:33 +0200)]
update from MirBSD CVS (new dot rules)

13 months agoupdate SSV to use the correct field separator (ASCII unit separator)
mirabilos [Sun, 21 Jun 2020 15:31:54 +0000 (17:31 +0200)]
update SSV to use the correct field separator (ASCII unit separator)

also update test to check that the ASCII file(!) separator is valid data

13 months agooops, I mis-picked
mirabilos [Sat, 20 Jun 2020 20:06:37 +0000 (22:06 +0200)]
oops, I mis-picked

13 months agoadd an Emacs modeline
mirabilos [Tue, 9 Jun 2020 15:12:41 +0000 (17:12 +0200)]
add an Emacs modeline

Emacs modelines are “File variables”¹, and I believe most *-mode
on ² (with the “-mode” stripped) qualify, but see ³ and mind the
position in the file (first line, not second but shebang doesn’t
count)

① https://www.gnu.org/software/emacs/manual/html_node/emacs/Specifying-File-Variables.html#Specifying-File-Variables
② https://www.emacswiki.org/emacs/List_Of_Major_And_Minor_Modes#toc2
③ https://www.emacswiki.org/emacs/ProgrammingModes

14 months agokeyboard layout quick switcher
mirabilos [Tue, 2 Jun 2020 15:55:41 +0000 (17:55 +0200)]
keyboard layout quick switcher

14 months agowork around #961377 until a fix is in place
mirabilos [Sun, 31 May 2020 20:37:28 +0000 (22:37 +0200)]
work around #961377 until a fix is in place

14 months agoupdate from MirBSD CVS
mirabilos [Sun, 31 May 2020 20:33:49 +0000 (22:33 +0200)]
update from MirBSD CVS

14 months agoconvenience env unset
mirabilos [Sun, 17 May 2020 17:03:34 +0000 (19:03 +0200)]
convenience env unset

14 months agoadd support for CUSTOM chroots
mirabilos [Sun, 17 May 2020 17:03:11 +0000 (19:03 +0200)]
add support for CUSTOM chroots

14 months agoUpdate from MirBSD CVS
mirabilos [Tue, 12 May 2020 17:50:36 +0000 (19:50 +0200)]
Update from MirBSD CVS

15 months agofrom a v̲e̲r̲y̲ enlightening thread on lynx-dev…
mirabilos [Mon, 20 Apr 2020 19:49:10 +0000 (21:49 +0200)]
from a v̲e̲r̲y̲ enlightening thread on lynx-dev…

15 months ago
mirabilos [Thu, 16 Apr 2020 23:52:33 +0000 (01:52 +0200)]


brown paper bag, and all

15 months agofix two things:
mirabilos [Thu, 16 Apr 2020 23:48:44 +0000 (01:48 +0200)]
fix two things:

• the string written to the faux x86 MBR bootcode: it was identical
  in our case, but if the user changed it…
• nuke the other tmpfile as well

15 months agoRomain says the FAT partition must be bootable for EXTLINUX
mirabilos [Thu, 16 Apr 2020 22:33:02 +0000 (00:33 +0200)]
Romain says the FAT partition must be bootable for EXTLINUX

15 months agoUpdate from MirBSD CVS
mirabilos [Wed, 15 Apr 2020 01:48:22 +0000 (01:48 +0000)]
Update from MirBSD CVS

16 months agosimplification for the easiest case
mirabilos [Thu, 12 Mar 2020 23:45:19 +0000 (00:45 +0100)]
simplification for the easiest case

16 months agoadd documentation links
mirabilos [Thu, 12 Mar 2020 23:00:35 +0000 (00:00 +0100)]
add documentation links

16 months agowording
mirabilos [Thu, 12 Mar 2020 22:46:26 +0000 (23:46 +0100)]
wording

16 months agoRevert "temporarily re-enable BSD ssh for testing"
mirabilos [Thu, 12 Mar 2020 22:44:32 +0000 (23:44 +0100)]
Revert "temporarily re-enable BSD ssh for testing"

This reverts commit 00d81fc86ab3ea7494ce6eeff3b64b0c2bd16630.

16 months agogreatly simplify decision…
mirabilos [Thu, 12 Mar 2020 22:44:17 +0000 (23:44 +0100)]
greatly simplify decision…

16 months agocould it become even simpler?
mirabilos [Thu, 12 Mar 2020 22:35:01 +0000 (23:35 +0100)]
could it become even simpler?

16 months agodistinguish ARE
mirabilos [Thu, 12 Mar 2020 22:31:01 +0000 (23:31 +0100)]
distinguish ARE

16 months agoannotate results with all variants
mirabilos [Thu, 12 Mar 2020 22:07:36 +0000 (23:07 +0100)]
annotate results with all variants

16 months agoadd Tcl (for ARE as used in PostgreSQL)
mirabilos [Thu, 12 Mar 2020 21:59:09 +0000 (22:59 +0100)]
add Tcl (for ARE as used in PostgreSQL)

16 months agorefactor: keep unescaped replacement string, c.p.
mirabilos [Thu, 12 Mar 2020 21:57:10 +0000 (22:57 +0100)]
refactor: keep unescaped replacement string, c.p.

16 months agotemporarily re-enable BSD ssh for testing
mirabilos [Thu, 12 Mar 2020 21:36:50 +0000 (22:36 +0100)]
temporarily re-enable BSD ssh for testing

16 months ago“what regular expression am I running?”
mirabilos [Thu, 12 Mar 2020 21:36:25 +0000 (22:36 +0100)]
“what regular expression am I running?”

17 months agofinish the update checker
mirabilos [Thu, 5 Mar 2020 20:08:10 +0000 (21:08 +0100)]
finish the update checker

17 months agoupdate from MirBSD CVS
mirabilos [Thu, 5 Mar 2020 20:04:47 +0000 (21:04 +0100)]
update from MirBSD CVS

17 months agoupdate from MirBSD CVS and adjust accordingly
mirabilos [Thu, 5 Mar 2020 20:03:21 +0000 (21:03 +0100)]
update from MirBSD CVS and adjust accordingly

17 months agoslightly update but exclude, newer needs valsubs
mirabilos [Thu, 5 Mar 2020 19:37:01 +0000 (20:37 +0100)]
slightly update but exclude, newer needs valsubs

17 months agoupdate from MirBSD CVS
mirabilos [Thu, 5 Mar 2020 19:36:00 +0000 (20:36 +0100)]
update from MirBSD CVS

17 months agodo something with the VCS IDs here; also, highlighting unbreaker
mirabilos [Thu, 5 Mar 2020 19:31:14 +0000 (20:31 +0100)]
do something with the VCS IDs here; also, highlighting unbreaker

17 months agoupdate from MirBSD CVS
mirabilos [Thu, 5 Mar 2020 19:30:56 +0000 (20:30 +0100)]
update from MirBSD CVS

17 months agoinitial update checker
mirabilos [Thu, 5 Mar 2020 19:24:21 +0000 (20:24 +0100)]
initial update checker

17 months agoimprove docs
mirabilos [Thu, 5 Mar 2020 17:23:31 +0000 (18:23 +0100)]
improve docs

17 months agomake € on input line optional
mirabilos [Tue, 11 Feb 2020 19:21:11 +0000 (20:21 +0100)]
make € on input line optional

17 months agoUpdate from MirBSD CVS
mirabilos [Tue, 11 Feb 2020 19:20:51 +0000 (20:20 +0100)]
Update from MirBSD CVS

18 months agoUpdate (bugfix) from MirBSD CVS HEAD
mirabilos [Sun, 2 Feb 2020 03:53:08 +0000 (04:53 +0100)]
Update (bugfix) from MirBSD CVS HEAD

18 months agocomputers are there to compute numbers, do it!
mirabilos [Sat, 1 Feb 2020 00:45:32 +0000 (01:45 +0100)]
computers are there to compute numbers, do it!

18 months agoUpdate from MirBSD CVS
mirabilos [Thu, 23 Jan 2020 02:40:53 +0000 (03:40 +0100)]
Update from MirBSD CVS

19 months agofix the locale and show the current time and ISO/German calendar week
mirabilos [Fri, 20 Dec 2019 14:02:13 +0000 (15:02 +0100)]
fix the locale and show the current time and ISO/German calendar week

20 months agoa mirabilos-support support script
mirabilos [Wed, 4 Dec 2019 08:25:29 +0000 (09:25 +0100)]
a mirabilos-support support script

20 months agoMerge branch 'master' of git+ssh://evolvis.org/scmrepos/git/shellsnippets/shellsnippets
mirabilos [Sat, 23 Nov 2019 23:12:05 +0000 (00:12 +0100)]
Merge branch 'master' of git+ssh://evolvis.org/scmrepos/git/shellsnippets/shellsnippets

20 months agoupdate from MirBSD CVS
mirabilos [Sat, 23 Nov 2019 23:11:25 +0000 (23:11 +0000)]
update from MirBSD CVS

20 months agodo the new hip thing and add hosting service metadata (well some)
mirabilos [Thu, 14 Nov 2019 21:03:12 +0000 (22:03 +0100)]
do the new hip thing and add hosting service metadata (well some)

21 months agoadd status subcommand instead of running with set -x
mirabilos [Sat, 26 Oct 2019 15:25:35 +0000 (17:25 +0200)]
add status subcommand instead of running with set -x

(todo: tool for enabling/disabling individual CPUs)

21 months agounbreak dillo (cf. Debian #924357), easen links+ and lynx
mirabilos [Tue, 8 Oct 2019 08:59:03 +0000 (10:59 +0200)]
unbreak dillo (cf. Debian #924357), easen links+ and lynx

22 months agoor manually set up a swap partition
mirabilos [Wed, 2 Oct 2019 18:24:22 +0000 (20:24 +0200)]
or manually set up a swap partition

(perhaps this will be added to the script later, and ideally
before the root partition, as to facilitate growing both boot
(by moving/recreating swap) and root (towards end of medium))

22 months agodrop sparse_super2 (prevents resize2fs); document how to add swap
mirabilos [Wed, 2 Oct 2019 15:54:14 +0000 (17:54 +0200)]
drop sparse_super2 (prevents resize2fs); document how to add swap

22 months agofilter invalid/reserved TLDs (a beginning: Zeroconf)
mirabilos [Fri, 27 Sep 2019 12:45:30 +0000 (14:45 +0200)]
filter invalid/reserved TLDs (a beginning: Zeroconf)

22 months ago… that was a tad too verbose
mirabilos [Thu, 19 Sep 2019 23:11:27 +0000 (01:11 +0200)]
… that was a tad too verbose

22 months agoimprove instructions (whiptail, again, being unhelpful)
mirabilos [Thu, 19 Sep 2019 19:05:04 +0000 (21:05 +0200)]
improve instructions (whiptail, again, being unhelpful)

22 months agoquery about architecture interactively
mirabilos [Thu, 19 Sep 2019 17:24:09 +0000 (19:24 +0200)]
query about architecture interactively